## OFFICE OF THE ELECTION COMMISSIONER FOR DISTRICT COUNCIL, TRIPURA.

No.F. 2(6) -EC/DC/GEN-ELEC/2014-15/372/- Dated 31st March, 2015

## PRESS NOTE

## Subject: - Schedule for General Election to Autonomous District Council, 2015.

The term of office of the present District council, Tripura will expire in the normal course on 19<sup>th</sup> May, 2015. In terms of the legal provisions, the process of General Election to the District Council for constitution a new District Council is required to be completed before the date of expiration of the present District Council.

**2.** The Election Commissioner for District Council, after taking into account all relevant factors has finalized the schedule for holding General Election to District Council.

<b>S1</b> .	Events	Date
No.		
1.	Issue of notification as per provision under sub- rule (2) of Rule 14 calling upon all the constituencies of the District Council to elect members	4 <sup>th</sup> April, 2015 ( Saturday)
2.	Issue of notification by the Election Commissioner for District Council as per provision under Rule 38 appointing the following schedule-	4 <sup>th</sup> April, 2015 ( Saturday)
(a)	Last date for making nomination	11 <sup>th</sup> April,2015 ( Saturday)
(b)	Date for the scrutiny of nominations	13 <sup>th</sup> April, 2015 (Monday)
(c)	Last date of the withdrawal of candidatures	16 <sup>th</sup> April, 2015 (Thursday)
(d)	Date on which Poll shall, if necessary, be taken	3 <sup>rd</sup> May,2015 (Sunday)
(e)	Date before which the process of Election shall be completed	10 <sup>th</sup> May, 2015 (Sunday)
3.	Hours for commencement and close of Poll	7AM to 5PM
4.	Date of counting of votes	6 <sup>th</sup> May,2015 (Wednesday)
5.	Commencement of counting of votes	8AM

## SCHEDULE

The Schedule of General Election is indicated below:

3.

1

4. District Election Officer: The District Magistrate & Collectors of all 8(eight) Districts of the State have been appointed as District Election Officers to co-ordinate and supervise all works in the District and in the area within his jurisdiction in connection with preparation of Electoral Rolls and Conduct of Elections to the District Council as provided under rule 18 of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (Constitution, Election and Conduct of Business) Rules, 1985.

**5.** Electoral Registration Officer(ERO) & Returning Officer(RO): The Sub-Divisional Magistrates of **16(sixteen)** Sub-Divisions namely Kanchanpur, Kumarghat, Longtharai Valley, Ambassa, Gandacherra, Khowai, Teliamura, Mohanpur, Jirania, Jampuijala, Bishalgarh, Udaipur, Amarpur, Karbook, Santirbazar & Sabroom have been appointed as Electoral Registration Officers for preparation of Electoral Rolls of the District Council constituencies and also Returning Officers for conduct of election as provided under rule 19 and 21 of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council(Constitution, Election and Conduct of Business) Rules, 1985.

**6. Sub-Divisional Magistrate(SDM):** The Sub-Divisional Magistrates of remaining **7(seven)** Sub-Divisions namely Dharmanagar, Kamalpur, Sonamura, Belonia, Kailashahar, Sadar & Panisagar will co-ordinate in all works relating to elections.

7. Electoral Rolls: As per rule, the Electoral Rolls of all 28 District Council constituencies have been prepared by segregating the Assembly Electoral Rolls now in force in the State prepared and revised with reference to 01.01.2015 as the qualifying date, as relates to the area comprised within the District Council constituencies. The Electoral Rolls of the District Council constituencies have been finally published on 18<sup>th</sup> March, 2015. The total number of electors of all 28 constituencies as per finally published Electoral Rolls are indicated below:

Male	383437
Female	375117
Total	758554

8. Identification of Voters: Compulsory identification of voters will be made in the ensuing General Election to District Council, 2015. The electors who have been provided with Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) shall be identified through Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) only. They are to produce Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) to establish identity at the polling station at the time of casting of votes. However, to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral Rolls,

2

he/she will be allowed to produce alternative documents to establish identity, apart from Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC).

9. **Polling Stations:** The list of Polling Stations have been finalized. Total number of Polling Stations for all 28 District Council constituencies are **1071**. District wise breakup is indicated below:

i)	North District	2 Constituencies 80 Polling Stations.		
ii)	Unakoti District	2 Constituencies 85 Polling Stations.		
iii)	Dhalai District	6 Constituencies 245 Polling Stations.		
iv)	Khowai District	3 Constituencies 111 Polling Stations.		
V)	West District	4 Constituencies 128 Polling Stations.		
vi)	Sepahijala District	3 Constituencies 102 Polling Stations.		
vii)	Gomati District	5 Constituencies 199 Polling Stations.		
viii)	South District	3 Constituencies 121 Polling Stations.		
Total: 8(eight) District 28 Constituencies 1071 Polling Stations.				

10. Nominations: The period of filing nomination papers to the Returning Officer of the respective constituency will be from 04.04.2015 to 11.04.2015 except 5<sup>th</sup> April, 2015 (Sunday). Therefore, no nomination papers shall be delivered to the Returning Officer on 5<sup>th</sup> April, 2015(Sunday). However, nomination papers shall be delivered to the Returning Officer on 11<sup>th</sup> April, 2015(Saturday) which will be treated as working day for the purpose of ADC Election.

The nomination papers will be received by the Returning Officers between hours 11O'clock in the forenoon and 3 O'clock in the afternoon.

11. Electronic Voting Mechines(EVMs) : The Commission has decided to use EVMs in the General Election to District Council in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

12. Counting of Votes: Counting of Votes will be done at Sub-Divisional Head Quarters like earlier occasion. Counting will take place at 8 a.m. on 6<sup>th</sup> May, 2015 and will continue till completion. Counting for all 28 constituencies will be taken up simultaneously.

13. Model Code of Conduct: The Model Code of Conduct shall comes into force with immediate effect in the <u>Autonomous District Council Areas</u>. Any activities in non-ADC areas which may have bearing on conduct of free and fair election in the 28 District Council constituencies going to polls is also be covered by Model Code of Conduct . This will be applicable to all Candidates, political parties and State Government. The Election Commissioner for District Council calls upon all the political parties, candidates and the State Government to strictly adhere to the Model Code of Conduct, which is a unique document, evolved with the consensus of all political parties in the Country. This is necessary to ensure free and fair poll in the State.

Secretary

Election Commissioner for District Council. Tripura.